Stanton by Dale Parish Council

This section provides details of current councillors and how to contact the Parish Council. It also has details of forthcoming council meetings as well as minutes of past meetings.

The Parish Council is a small local authority. Its councillors are elected for four years at a time. Vacancies occurring between elections are filled by bye-election (if requested) or co-option. The council is the corporation of its village or town.

Each year the councillors choose a chairman from amongst their number. There is also a vice-chairman and a clerk, who is the Proper Officer and the Responsible Finance Officer of the council.

Parish Councils have a number of formal powers. Many provide allotments, look after playing fields, play areas and village greens, They maintain and guard things such as rights of way, bus shelters, public seats, small scale street lighting, and often provide village halls and meeting places. The Parish Council can do these things by actually providing them itself, or by helping someone else (such as a charity or volunteers) financially to do so. Parish Councils have the power to improve the quality of community life by spending sums of money on things which, in their opinion, are in the interests of the parish or it’s inhabitants.

Councils are also the focal point for local consultation on matters such as planning applications and Borough Council strategic planning. The parish councillors know the village and can represent its views to other authorities such as District and County Councils. They are entitled to be consulted on planning applications and are often consulted on things like schools and roads. They put the parish’s case at public enquiries.

Parish councils are the most unbureaucratic and cheapest kind of local authority in existence. Their funds are a tiny part of the council tax. They get no general government grant, and so have every incentive to be economical. The accounts are strictly audited every year by an internal auditor and the Audit Commission.

Current Members of the Parish Council

iHere are the current members of Stanton by Dale Parish Council. View the register of interests for councillors here.

E  Mail The Parish Council :

Chair Cllr Marie Edinborough Tel: 0115 9329995

Vice Chair  Ralph Homer 0115 9324843

 Cllr Chris Cotes Tel: 0115 9326301 Cllr Philip Woodward Tel: 0115 9491888

  Cllr Paul Harvey Tel: 0115 9328328 Cllr Simon Leaf 07528 119846

Clerk/RFO Mrs Margaret Fox Tel: 07771 902856

Parish Council Accounts Minutes of meetings